“We don’t have any coke but there’s a Pepsi machine down the hall”

True+Romance+(1993)+2

Chapter 5

25th March 1996

Some days you wake up with no agenda, no need to be anywhere and best of all no hangover. I woke up to a glorious spring morning in my cosy bed, remembered I had no place to go and spent about an hour pondering my me and Him. Really self analysed. He was working at the comic shop this morning so I had peace and quiet to evaluate my life and assess the pros and cons of certain actions. Precious solo time spent listening to Expecting to Fly by The Bluetones deliberating that age old quandary – should I stay or should I go?

1030 am and no conclusion.

We actually had edible food in the house for breakfast (eggs and bacon no less) which was a rare treat. Fine weather and fine dining. So, sufficiently full of protein and with a spring in my step, I  managed some serious nose to the grindstone stuff on the B.I.P. I am so on top of this uni work and it makes me focus on something more productive than my emotional dilemma.

130 pm and no conclusion.

I met Maisie after lunch and we had an ace afternoon pottering about Robert’s Emporium. I think it is one of my favourite places in Cardiff. Where else could you, if you so desired, buy an authentic 1950’s mannequin or a Speak and Spell under one roof? We spent ages looking through all the retro treasure, trying to stiffle giggles when something was just too cheesy. Hedgehog print flares anyone? Anyway I ended up getting two authentic 70s shirts, one with collars so huge I certainly won’t be able to leave the building. Two stylish shirts for less than £10 with a free, very enthusiastic and informative speech by the salesman on how small Twiggy was in the 60s, with a teeny size 6 Pucci print dress to demonstrate.

We then came back here to a blissfully empty house, opened a bottle of wine and chilled out whilst watching one of our favourite films – ‘True Romance’. Oh how I wish I was Alabama with her stunning, sexy girl strength. “You’re so cool”, I have always loved this simple line for the way it conveys her complete and utter love for Clarence.

630 pm and I am veering towards being a single girl. I haven’t thought of Him as being cool for months. He is not cool, I need someone cool.

Today has been amazing so far and there is more to come. Am just in the early stages of “ymbincio” –  Welsh for putting make up on, literally translated as “making oneself pink” and the best word ever!

Tonight I am reaping my rewards for being the Presidential Translating Service. I am so excited about having drinks with this new crowd but also feel intimidated and out of my depth. I want to make an impression because these people are cool. And I want to be with cool people. And have people think that I am cool. So make-up done, black jeans and 70s shirt (not the one with the huge collars, not yet) .

*               *                *              *              *              *              *              *                *               *

I usually make a pact with myself not to write in this when drunk, especially when this stupidly intoxicated BUT I have to just write how ABSOLUTELY AMAZING TONIGHT WAS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  I loved everyone I met and I don’t think I made too much of a tit of myself. God I hope not…..no I’m sure I didn’t. I was AMAZING, the whole night was FAB. AND FREE BEER RULES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1993-True+Romance

2am conclusion – I don’t need him, I can do great things on my own.

Leave a Reply

